AS Music Magazine Brief

The genre of music that my magazine will focus on will be ‘indie rock’. This then gives me a wider range of bands and artists to include in my magazine as it is broadening the genre.
 Age: 16-23 year olds
Gender: Mostly males but have an appeal to females too
Hobbies: Playing music instruments
Interests: music, photography, gigs, festivals, skate boarding, etc.
Fashion: Cheer Up Clothing, Glamour Kills Clothing, Drop Dead Clothing, DBNO Clothing, Lazy Oaf Clothing, Babycakes Clothing
Technology use: Computer (social networking), cameras, iPods, mobile phones
Socio-economic: retail shop worker, photographers, musicians, graphic designers, etc.
Education: educated at a public school
Aspirations: to make music, to become a professional photographer, to start a clothing line, etc.
TV and internet: they will mostly watch music channels like Kerrang!, NME, Scuzz, etc. and usually they will watch TV on a night time or in the evening. The time that they would go on the internet is most likely late at night/ early hours in the morning.

Similar magazines that are in this genre include; Kerrang!, NME, Big Cheese and Alternative

Existing bands/artists that could feature in my production; Kids In Glass Houses, The Blackout, You Me At Six, Paramore, All time low, Jimmy Eat World, Blink 182, Enter Shikari, Framing Hanley, One Night Only, Forever The Sickest Kids, 30 Seconds To Mars, etc.

Websites and TV channels that would be useful to watch to see what bands are feature and how are they portrayed:
Websites; music magazine websites, bands myspace, venue websites
TV channels: music channels

‘Real’ bands/artists that my band will be inspired by or compared to include;

Kids In Glass Houses

 

 

The Blackout

 

All Time Low                                                       

 


Free
posters/ cd’s/ discount for clothing lines
Promotions of tours, festivals, clothing lines, albums, merchandise
Features; articles, classified ads, fan zone, live gig reviews
Stories; Blink 182 ‘Was the reunion a huge mistake?’, Paramore cancel tour!, The King Blues new album
Interviews with Aled Phillips ‘Kids In Glass Houses’ and Oli Sykes ‘Bring Me The Horizon’
Reviews on albums, gigs, festivals, photo shoots
Competitions – Win tickets to Download festival

I want my magazine to offer my reader an alternative way to enjoy music, an excuse for them to relax and to provide information about their favourite artists. The tone of my magazine is going to be talking about the music and the artists, upcoming tours, albums, music videos, etc. The register of my magazine will be informal as though speaking with friends, and as my target audience are young adults the use of swear words will not upset or shock them so swear words could feature in the magazine. 
The style of photography that I want to feature in my magazine is posed, so that it looks more like a photo shoot and not a live action shot of the band in action. A photographer that will influence my magazine is Tom Barnes. The location of my photo shoot will be somewhere with a plain background so that it looks like a studio, the props I will use could include; a guitar, drum sticks, an amplifier, a microphone, etc. I want to represent the band/artist as being alternative, interesting and exciting.

Names for music magazine:
RIOT!
Lost In Stereo
TBIT (the best in town)

Band names:
Kill me with words
Bláth balla

My magazine will be sold in supermarkets, newsagents, petrol stations, clothing shops, music shops, musical instrument shops etc.
A few shops that my magazine will be sold in include; WHSmith, Co-op, Tesco’s, Sainsburys, Morrisons, Shell petrol stations, BP petrol stations, etc. 

Any TV adverts that my magazine has will be shown on music channels and channel 4 because my target audience will most likely watch music channels and programmes like ‘Skins’ and ‘Misfits’ are shown on channel 4, these are also aimed at the same audiences. The time that my advert would be shown is between 10pm and 2am as this is the prime time for when my target audience will most likely be watching TV.

Music channels like Kerrang!, NME and Scuzz is where my magazine would be advertised. Radio stations including BBC Radio 1 and Kerrang’s radio station. I would have posters in music shops where instruments, music devices (iPods, mp3’s etc.) are sold and music retailers like HMV and Rapture are sold. I would also place posters at music venues like O2 academy’s and HMV institutes around the country. My target audience are most likely not going to read newspapers so I wouldn’t advertise my magazine in any newspapers. I would use the internet to advertise my magazine by creating a page on Facebook so that people could like it and recommend friends, this will be an effective way to advertise my magazine.

My music magazine would be associated with Download, Oxygen and Reading Festival. Once a year it will hold its own events similar to Radio ones big weekend and T4 on the beach. To gain more advertisement my magazine would sponsor a TV programme like ‘Skins’ to appeal to my target audience and attract others that don’t specifically fit into the obvious target audience.

On the magazine’s website I would offer the chance to be in the next issue of the magazine if you register to the website.

Mission statement 
‘I intend to produce a magazine that inspires the reader to get involved with the music and not just take a backseat, to inform the reader about excellent music and to encourage them to include music in their lives. My magazine will compete against other magazines of the same genre such as Kerrang! Or NME, it will focus on the music and not the image created by the media, this is something that every other magazine doesn’t do and it will be a good selling point for my magazine.’

Leave a Reply

